Driver License FAQs
TX-DPS.com does not provide Texas driver licenses. Upon completion of an approved course, you may obtain your Texas driver license from the Texas Department of Public Safety.
Our comprehensive and educational courses for teens and adults can help you become driver ready in no time! We offer great pricing and our course has been DPS approved (C#2636A).
Below are some questions to help you learn more about earning your Texas driver license:
Q: Can I earn my Texas driver license online?
A: Yes! We offer two great courses for teenagers looking to earn their license, and for adults who are seeking their driver license for the first time.
Q: How long will it take to earn my Texas driver license with TX-DPS?
A: The course includes 32 hours of virtual instruction once you’ve received your Certificate of Completion, you are not required to take the written test administered by the DPS. The Certificate of Completion is proof that this test was taken and passed through this course.
Q: How much will the teen course cost to earn a driver license?
A: We offer a teen course for students between the ages of 14 and 17 for only $149.
Q: How much will the adult course cost to earn a driver license?
A: Our adult course for students 18 and up is only $55.
Q: What information will I receive at the end of my course?
A: Upon successfully completing our online course, the student will receive the Certificate of Completion. This will be proof that the test was taken and passed through our course and will qualify the student for an unrestricted diver’s license.
Q: What steps will I need to take to earn an adult driver license?
A: Texas law requires all adult first time drivers to take driver education. Virtual Drive is TEA Approved Course #C2636, and provides quality education for all adults of any age. Virtual Drive of Texas has provided online driver education for over 10 years. Our customer service is located right here in Texas and is dedicated to providing friendly and knowledgeable help.
Q: What steps will I need to take to earn a teen driver license?
A: There are three steps to earn your driver license:
Step One: Sign up for the Virtual Drive education course.
This course is approved by the State of Texas and is listed a Course #107 on the Texas Education Agency website.
Step Two: Obtain Your Learner’s Permit.
Using the DPS form DL-92 the student will register with the state of Texas to be in the Parent Taught Program. Once the student has registered and completed Module 1 of this course, he/she is prepared to apply for a Learner’s Permit through the local DPS office.
Step Three: Obtain Your Driver’s License.
When your child turns 16, has held the Learner’s Permit for six months, and has completed the course, he/she is eligible to apply for an unrestricted Driver’s License through your DPS office.
Because our course is approved, your student will not be required to take the written test administered by the DPS. The Certificate of Completion is proof that this test was taken and passed through this course.
Recent legislative changes require that all new student drivers take a driving test with a local DPS official. This new requirement applies to all new drivers who apply for a new license after September 1, 2009.
The Virtual Drive of Texas program the only true computer-based driver education course approved by the Texas Department of Public Safety: Parent Taught Driver Ed Course #107. This driver education program is the only course you need to fulfill all Texas requirements for 32 hours of in-class driver education training/testing and 14 hours of in car training for your son or daughter to obtain their Provisional License. Even more important, this driver education program provides all of the information needed to help your new driver off to a safe and smart start!